Telangana, situated in the central stretch of the Indian Peninsula on the Deccan Plateau, is the 29th state of India and twelfth-largest state in the country witd an extent of 114,840 square kilometres and a population of 35,286,757 (2011 census).

Telangana is bordered by the states of Andhra Pradesh to the south and east, Maharashtra to the north and north-west, Karnataka to the west and Chhattisgarh to the north-east.

The city of Hyderabad is the joint capital for Telangana and the successor state of Andhra Pradesh for the period of ten years.

Hyderabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Karimnagar and Khammam are the major cities in the state.

The region is drained by two major rivers, with about 79% of the Godavari River catchment area and about 69% of the Krishna River catchment area, but most of the land is arid.Telangana is also drained by several minor rivers such as the Bhima, the Manjira and the Musi.

The annual rainfall is between 900 to 1500 mm in northern Telangana and 700 to 900 mm in southern Telangana, from the southwest monsoons. Various soil types abound, including chalkas, red sandy soils, dubbas, deep red loamy soils, and very deep b.c. soils that facilitate planting mangoes, oranges and flowers

© Copyright 2018 by Irrigation & CAD Department, Govt. of Telangana,India. All Rights Reserved.
Portal Policy | Terms and Conditions | Help | Archive | FeedBack